New Haven Register Blogs: Pilots' Blog: Women's field set

Pilots' Blog

Our bloggers check in with the latest news and views from the 2008 Pilot Pen Tennis Tournament.

Thursday, August 14, 2008

Women's field set

There were no last-minute additions to the women's field at the Pilot Pen.

With Daniela Hantuchova and Nicole Vaidisova moving into the main draw following the withdrawals of Sania Mirza and Samantha Stosur, the three wild cards went to Patty Schnyder, Bethanie Mattek and Jill Craybas. Tamarine Tanasugarn and former Pilot Pen finalist Nathalie Dechy were in the running for wild cards but the tournament opted to go with the Americans Mattek and Craybas instead.

The biggest news, as mentioned in a previous blog entry, was former world No. 1 Lindsay Davenport entering to play doubles with Hantuchova. Anna Chakvetadze, ranked 10th, is the only top 10 player in the field but the tournament has nine top 20 players.

Former Fairfield Prep and Wake Forest star Todd Paul was given a wild card into the men's qualifying draw along with Scoville Jenkins, Adam El Mihdawy and former Barlow star Will Boe-Wiegaard, who won the men's open singles title at the Yale Summer Championships to earn that wild card berth. Naomi Cavaday, Asia
Muhammad and Mallory Cecil join Christina McHale as women's qualifying wild card selections. McHale also won the qualifier into the Pilot Pen qualifier like Boe-Wiegaard.

The men's field is still being finalized. The deadline is Friday at noon.

The draw ceremonies will be held Friday beginning at 12:30 p.m. at the Connecticut Tennis Center. Play in the tournament begins with women's qualifying action kicking off at 10 a.m.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

© 2008 Journal Register Company. All Rights Reserved.